Creativity Crusader // Meet Intern Olivia

This fall, The Olive Shoe has enjoyed getting to know (and greatly benefited from) Olivia’s assistance as an intern from Anderson University in Anderson, SC. She’s been creating and scheduling social media posts, uploading items to shop.theoliveshoe.com, and even creating a few pieces of stationery of her own.

IMG_8391

Some of you may have had the opportunity to meet her downtown at Anderson’s FreshTaste festival earlier this fall when she helped me set up, but I haven’t really “formally introduced” her to the general public yet! What better way than featuring her as a creativity crusader – she certainly is!

Olivia is, of course, creative. She is also kind, compassionate, organized, smart, reliable, and self-motivated. Instead of keeping regular office hours, she has worked “from home”, and we meet weekly for lunch to discuss projects and task lists.

So without further ado, allow me introduce you to Olivia:

What is your name?

Olivia Ficklin

How old are you (if you are ok with sharing…totally optional)?

19 years old

In what city & state do you live?

Let me elaborate on this one… Olivia is from Charlotte, North Carolina, but currently attends Anderson University, so for at least Fall and Spring semesters, she lives in Anderson, South Carolina.

Do you consider yourself to be creative?

Yes! I love all forms of art, from theatre to painting to creative marketing, and everything in between. I view creativity as self-expression that is realized though hours of hard work and refined with every note, drawing, and design.  

IMG_0044

What toys or activities were you drawn to as a child?

I was a book worm, and when I wasn’t nose-deep in a book, I played Barbies with my little sister. Another one of my favorite activities was painting. I started off with a little pink paint set and would paint anything and everything. As I grew older I used my free time to help my mom, who is a seamstress, with plays. We would design costumes and paint awesome backdrops for the productions!

What inspires you?

I’m inspired by my family, especially my mom, who encourages me to continue to do what I love and pushes me to always give my best. One of the biggest inspirations for my art at the moment is nature. The beauty and richness of this world God has given us is such a reminder of His presence. Nature is also a strong source of color, texture, and movement. Looking back on famous works of art, I love seeing how artists illustrate their view of nature in different ways. Long story short, that’s what I’ve been loving to share with others through my art!

Olivia_Play

What do you do for a living?

I am currently a student at Anderson University studying Business Marketing.

Are you formally educated or self-taught? (or both)?

I’ve had a lot of fantastic mentors over the years! I was very blessed to have talented teachers that directed me and encouraged me to continue creating.

How do you get un-stuck if you’re in a creative rut?

Usually, I need to set down what I’m doing and come back later with fresh eyes. However, if I’m feeling uninspired, I don’t pressure myself to get back to work. What helps me is going out and living a little. This might be doing something spontaneous, taking a hike (I LOVE roadtrips), or spending quality time with my friends.

IMG_0046

How do you feel about your organization and time management skills?

I love having a relaxing space to get my work done, so staying organized motivates me to accomplish more. Time management is a whole different ballgame. I’m what one would call fashionably late, but hey, at least I’m fashionable right? What usually helps me combat this is leaving early whether I’m ready to go or not. In terms of getting work done, I try to get something finished as soon as I think about it and always start on an project early.

Do you have a routine?

Definitely! My day can’t start unless I have eight hours of sleep under my belt (unheard of in college, right?) and a big cup of coffee. I typically have class in the morning and into the afternoon. After this I do homework for the classes I just went to, that way I’m always one day ahead. My busy day takes on many forms, but the best routine will include time to take care of my physical health (eating healthily and exercising), mental health (taking a break to enjoy time with friends), and spiritual health (time spent in prayer and studying the Bible)!

How do you deal with stress?

Chocolate. A lot of chocolate. Also, retail therapy. My bank account doesn’t approve but no one can convince me it doesn’t help! Another big stress reliever for me is petting a dog. I’m also thankful to have friends that take my mind off of situations stressing me out and encourage me when I have a lot going on. They also stop me when I reach for my third cake-in-a-mug packet.

Olivia_Ficklin

If you have more to do than can fit in a typical day, do you get up earlier or stay up later?

I’m typically a night owl. For some reason, that’s when my creative juices are flowing, and I feel like I can accomplish anything!

How do you spend your time when you’re not working?

I always feel like I have SOMETHING I should try to get done, so I have to make myself take a break. I love time spend with my friends and my boyfriend. Grabbing a cup of queso at Moe’s, making a Dunkin’ run, going to TJMaxx, and having a Netflix marathon are probably my favorite things to do with friends! In the creative field I absolutely love painting, especially if its something I’ve been working on for a long time.

What’s one piece of advice you would tell your younger self?

I would say to not take myself so seriously. I feel like I’ve missed out on a lot because I was so self-conscious and careful to be perfect. Being confident but not afraid to make mistake is a combination for success.

TheGirls2 (11 of 32)

And just for fun…

Favorite color?

Light blue. Go Tar Heels!

(Bless her heart ;)…sometimes I need to be reminded that everyone isn’t quite as obsessed with orange as we are)

Describe yourself in one word.

Driven.

Great choice, Olivia.

The last thing you ate was…

Goldfish!

A favorite quote you want to share?

“The only time I set the bar low is for limbo.” -Michael Scott from The Office

Do you have any party tricks?

I learned how to yodel when I played the part of Maria in The Sound of Music. I wish I could still do it, but I haven’t practiced enough!

See? Isn’t she amazing???

Stay tuned next month!

So what, you ask, MAKES a creativity crusader? Crusaders can be any age and in any profession.

  • Creativity crusaders are passionate about what they do for a living or as one or more hobbies.

  • Creativity crusaders infuse creativity into daily life.

  • Creativity crusaders champion the cause for creativity in some corner of the world.

  • Creativity crusaders inspires others to be creative, think creatively and live a creative life.

I love celebrating people (and so many other things)! If you would like to suggest a creativity crusader you know, please email me your suggestion, a little bit about the crusader and a couple of photos to lauren@theoliveshoe.com. I always love meeting new, creative, people!

Previously featured crusaders:

“Creative people are curious, flexible, persistent, and independent with a tremendous spirit of adventure and a love of play.” – Henri Matisse

LAC_Signature-01

Lauren {LAC} James is a Sr. Designer of Product Graphics for an international manufacturing company by day and founder/CEO of The Olive Shoe, a creativity crusader, designer, foster mom, artist and blogger in her “free” time. Follow her and The Olive Shoe on FacebookTwitterPinterest or Instagram! Please subscribe to receive emails, and of course, come back and visit again soon!

Please visit the online shop or pop by the new office – on the “porch” at Smoore Designs at 2710 N. Main Street, Anderson, South Carolina.

The Olive Shoe | Paperie & Goods is designed and run by Lauren {LAC} James © 2018 LAC James All Rights Reserved. 

“Celebration is my ministry. Paper is my method.” – LACJAMES

Other popular posts by LAC:

Leave a comment