Children’s Bathroom | Why I Let My Kids Paint Their Bathroom

My girls LOVE to paint. They would do it 24/7 if I would let them. I do let them paint a lot. They paint mostly outside with every kind of paint-like medium. They also paint at school, in the bath, and on random objects around our home. With all of the painting projects we have had going on at home (Shed and Home in particular) – the girls have been wanting to help. In general, we have in fact allowed the girls to help many times. They take painting very seriously and, as such, do a good job. During spring break, I needed the girls to complete a project that would keep them occupied. So we decided to paint their bathroom. Honestly, I find many children’s bathrooms to be too stuffy and not fun.

Execution – So I let the children pick from paints we had already used in our home. This way, it didn’t cost us any extra money and it matched with the rest of the home. It also allowed me to help the girls pick colors they wanted but that also matched their room. Luckily, my girls are really good painters and did a fantastic job covering the walls. I went thru and cut out the room and rolled thru the top of the room. In the end I was pleasantly surprised that the walls matched their shower curtain, room, and home.

{Before pictures of the bathroom}

{My girls hard at work}

IMG_20190324_183353IMG_20190324_183254

{Finished Product}

Kids Bathroom Ideas – Here are some great kids’ bathrooms to get you inspired if you want a fun bathroom but aren’t ready to set your children loose with the painting and decor.

I love this sweet girls bathroom

This is a great animal printed bathroom

LOVE this colorful bathroom

This is a great dinosaur bathroom

Great ocean theme for kids

In the end, I am very excited that I got my children’s creative juices flowing. Getting out of your comfort zone isn’t easy – especially when the results will be so permanent! When all was said and done, I am so thrilled with the results and allowing my children to have this awesome opportunity to create. Bathrooms should bring joy to your home and laughter to your life. After all, we do spend many unpleasant hours in the bathroom – you might as well have something fun to look at!

Lauren Cop is a part-time SAHM (Stay At Home Mom) of Irish Twins and Senior writer/editor ciao_laurencop_sig-01of the Olive Shoe Blog. Currently Lauren and her family live in Tallahassee, FL where she teaches at a local pre-school. A Clemson fanatic, alumni and general sports enthusiast. She loves reading, gardening, food, and traveling. Follow her Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest.

The Olive Shoe | Paperie & Design | Celebrating Creativity and Creatively Celebrating is designed and run by Lauren {LAC} James © 2015 LAC James All Rights Reserved.

Lauren {LAC} James is a Sr. Designer of Product Graphics for an international manufacturing company by day and a creativity crusader, designer, planner extraordinaire, artist and blogger in her “free” time. Follow her and The Olive Shoe on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or Instagram! Pleasesubscribe to receive emails, of course, come back and visit again soon!

Please visit the online art gallery {Art by LAC} and Etsy Shop too

Other Posts by Lauren Cop:

 

Leave a comment